PROGRAMME (subject to change)


Keynote speaker: Minister of Arts and Culture

SESSION 1 (10am – 1pm): Dreams, Dialogues and Realities: fictional voices

Facilitator: Zukiswa Wanner
Panelists:  Lauretta Ngcobo (South Africa); Lola Shoneyin (Nigeria); Shailja Patel (Kenya);  Henrietta Rose-Innes (South Africa); Veronique Tadjo (Ivory Coast / South Africa)

SESSION 2 (2pm  -3.30pm): Dreams, Dialogues and Realities: fictional voices continued

Facilitator: Lynda Spencer
Panellists: Miriam Tlali (South Africa); Samira Negrouche (Algeria); Adaobi Nwaubani (Nigeria); Arja Salafranca (South Africa)

SESSION 3 (4pm- 6pm): Writing the Self and others: biographical and autobiographical voices (life writing)

Facilitator: Masechaba Moshoeshoe
Panelists: Seatholo Tumedi (Botswana); Lulli Callinicos (South Africa); Ellen Ndeshi Namhila (Namibia); Gabeba Baderoon (South Africa); Leloba Molema (Botswana)

EVENING: CULTURAL PERFORMANCE and READINGS : 7.30pm – Sci-bono Discovery Centre Auditorium

Programme Director: Lisa Combrinck (South Africa)

Jayne Cortez (USA)
Nosipho Kota (South Africa)
Samira Negrouche (Algeria)
Arja Salafranca (South Africa)
Adaobi Nwaubani (Nigeria)
Ellen Ndeshi Namhila (Namibia)
Natalia Molebatsi (South Africa)
Shailja Patel (Kenya)
Sindiswa Seakhoa (South Africa)

Live Music: One Africa Voices (a Pan African Band comprising lead singers Linda Archieng from Kenya,Lindiwe Bungane from Zambia and Nonhlanhla Mahlangu from South Africa as well as band members from Nigeria,Ghana and Benin Republic)

DAY 2:

SESSION 4 (10am-12.30am): Narrating the nation and the politics of reconstruction

Facilitator:    Karabo Kgoleng
Panelists: Elinor Sisulu (South Africa / Zimbabwe); Zubeida Jaffer (South Africa); Shailja Patel (Kenya); Lisa Combrinck (South Africa)

SESSION 5 (1.30 pm-3.15pm): No Newsroom of my own: Journalistic and editorial voices

Facilitator : Nokuthula Mazibuko (South Africa)
Panelists:  Maureen Isaacson (Sunday Independent); Gail Smith (South Africa); Nosipho Kota (South Africa)

SESSION 6 (3.45pm-5.45pm): WE ARE ALL AFRICANS! A continental dialogue towards the formation of an African Women Writers Network

Facilitator: Fiona Lloyd
Panelists:  Margaret Busby (UK / Ghana); Jayne Cortez (USA),  Lola Shoneyin (Nigeria), Shailja Patel (Kenya)

Closing remarks:

Deputy Minister of Arts and Culture
Deputy Minister of International Relations and Co-operation


One Response to Programme

  1. it beautiful and feel that it will be fun and lots to learn thank you south africa

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s